Gaps, Updates and Books

It’s  been a while and there was a lot to take in. I’m glad that there were happy times and that each sad ones passed by with a lesson or realization.

For the past days, I have been meaning to write more but of most of the time, I was left on a daze contemplating on many things, and sometimes, contemplating too much. Thus the considerably long pause for this blog. Nevertheless, it’s good to be paying more attention to ‘real life’. Hehe. (But then again, I can get really caught up in the Internet.)

In a nutshell,

  • I’ve been meaning to write more and write better and trying to really find “my voice”.
  • I was asked to become the speaker for our school’s Seniors’ Night aka graduation ball and I did the speaking engagement. (I’m writing about it next time and I hope to be gutsy enough to post my ‘speech’ here somewhere.)
  • I’ve been trying my best to be really productive. As in really.
  • I’m picking up the pieces for myself having to seemingly miss the ability to meditate and to meditate well. (It’s because I’ve been ranting much in my thoughts lately.)
  • I’ve been reading books which leads me the main point why I’m writing this post.

As I’ve noted somewhere, I am not big on fiction and I am not big in reading either as many people would think having known that I am a writer. But reality strikes and not reading affects my writing so I’m trying to be at it again and this time, more intentionally. My second most important reason is for me to ‘fix’  my attention span when it comes to reading. Multitasking and endless Internet browsing has unfortunately affected my attention when reading. I skip too many lines, even paragraphs and miss points, some of which are important. I’ve also come to read without really thinking while doing it and I think that is not a good thing.

I am making this list to remind me and keep me on track of my reading. I have no goals when it comes to numbers so far and this list is open to changes and additions. So far, here’s what I’m trying to get my head into:

  • Screwtape Letters, C.S Lewis
  • James & the Giant Peach, Roald Dahl
  • Wizard of Oz, L. Frank Baum
  • Alice in Wonderland, Lewis Carroll
  • On Writing, Stephen King
  • 100 Years From Now, Steve Murrell
  • Wild At Heart, John Eldredge*
  • Captivating, John & Stasi Eldredge
  • Just Do Something, Kevin DeYoung
  • The Fault In Our Stars, John Green

I don’t know when I will finish these but I’m reading in a quite good speed, I think so maybe I can finish all of the above in a matter of say three months. (fingers-crossed)

*I just finished this one last week but still included it to motivate and inspire me. 😀

So there, maybe you have books you can suggest for me to read. 🙂

Leave a Reply

