Bookfinds: Year-end edition

In my attempt to write about what I have been up to lately, I talk about about the books I get to have this time. πŸ™‚

DSCN3562Most of these are from Booksale. There is something about used books that I easily gravitate towards them. He-he.

yes4.postprocessedJames and the Giant Peach because a)it’s Roald Dahl and b)I want to know Β the story having watched the movie already. I have been fond of buying classics, with all emphasis to them being children’s classics, lately. Reading them makes me feel like catching up with what I missed in childhood, lol. I want to know as many stories as I can and I’m starting with these books. I had also always wanted to know Alice by print so yeah. Good thing they’re way, way cheap!

jamespeach.postprocessed

Ha-ha, talk about attempts!finalAnd then, I was able to have extra money so I was able to grab books from other bookshops.

DSCN3538final iiFinally, after months of looking at this at OMF, I was able to Β grab a copy not to mention it’s the last one they have. I have been wanting to read this since last year. I like CS Lewis having read some Narnia books. This time I trying to read his works that are about/are referencing theology.

“This classic has entertained and enlightened readers the world over with it’s sly and ironic portrayal of human life and foibles… The Screwtape Letters is the most engaging account of temptation-and triumph over it-ever written.”

DSCN3547Another grab from OMF is this book by Kevin DeYoung. I’m not familiar with the author but I’m familiar with who wrote the foreword, he-he. The title caught me and I figured maybe IΒ needΒ this, really.

DSCN3545I’ve posted this already but posting it again because I finally got to finish it! It’s a good book if you’re wanting an easy read. I found it fun learning from Miller’s and his friend Paul’s insights on life and God while they were traveling. πŸ™‚

DSCN2842I also bought some Dr. Seuss and this Lady and the Tramp. Sadly though it’s not the original story but a totally different story with The Lady and the Tramp characters in it. I should’ve known.

I became fascinated with Dahl and started off by reading his book Boy. It’s an account of his life from childhood to the time that he was out of school. He claims that it’s not a biography, though. I now know his inspiration for writingΒ Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.Β 

I’m pretty much excited about the next books I’m about to buy and read. But that would be way next time because I put myself in a book ban because of accumulating and not reading yet, ha-ha.

And oh, do notice my attempts at taking pictures. Ha-ha.

Happy holidays! πŸ™‚

5 thoughts on “Bookfinds: Year-end edition

    1. Thanks! πŸ™‚ Awww, it took so long for me to find it, too. Have you tried OMF? or FullyBooked? As for Dahl, it;s my first time to read his book and basing from Boy, he is a good one. I like how he can make simple things and events amusing and meaningful. It’s like making something out of nothing:)

      I hope you find Screwtape already. Thanks for dropping by this blog! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

