Booksale Delights

I have been on the quest of exposing myself to different reads lately. And Booksale has been a kind help to my endeavor.

Apparently, cheap book finds is the treat here; but what added to the giddiness (at least, for me) is heaps and heaps of random and rare nice finds.

I was looking for something that would spark interest when I took notice of this. I must say that it was primarily because of the cover that I took it. Then it said ‘novel in verse’. I am into writing styles these days so it was really a treat! And you can just imagine how much this costs!

On another occasion, I was thinking that I should start reading some classics, as well, or at least something not really contemporary so when I saw thisย anthology, I snagged it. (Guess what? Haven’t read a single story. Boo. [Don’t judge me!])

My latest ‘obsession’ are magazines of, say, different sorts. The Wire mag was purchased out of some sort of mistaken identity. Ha-ha! Having no idea what Wire is all about, Iย thoughtย it was a design/art mag because of the cover photo. (Apparently, I have no idea who, what Deerhoof is, let alone Captain Beefheart.) So much for judging the cover, huh? As it turns out, it’s a music magazine(!). I like knowing new things and since almost all of the content (or the whole mag itself) is new to me, so it was okay. ๐Ÿ™‚ However, the real catch is I got it for only Php6! And you are not mistaken.

Bookmarks, on the other hand, sort of complements my endeavor (of finding reads). Purchasing it was almost a no-brainer (also, since it costs only Php28). Now, I have a whole ย magazine of a book list. Interestingly, it has anย articleย about Haruki Murakami -whose books have been arousing my curiosity for some time now. It’s like having a heads-up of someone you’ll be meeting for the first time:)

I must say though, my trip to the Booksale wasn’t always a happy one, just like not being able to get the copy of Maurice Sendak’s “Where The Wild Things Are” the moment I saw it because I has no moolah. As if that’s not sad enough, it was gone when I was ready to have it. But yeah, things can be replaced, you know. (Note to self) So, the discovering goes on. ๐Ÿ™‚ I have seen copies (take note of the plurality) of ย Tolkien’s “The Hobbit”, Marvel comics, books on faith and theology (which can really be pricey outside Booksale) and Stephen Kings to name a few. Hmm, I am hoping to snag a Status or Rogue mag one day soon. ๐Ÿ™‚

*This is ย notย a sponsored post. lol

4 thoughts on “Booksale Delights

  1. Hello! Stumbled upon your blog through HeyKessy’s mail swap page. I love Booksale too! Maybe you’d like to join us in our online book club? (booklat.tumblr.com)
    We’d love to have you there!

    1. Hi! Thanks for dropping by Drea! ๐Ÿ™‚
      Booksale! :)) Checked you bookclub, too. Mmm, I’m not really big on reads yet but yes, I would like to. Thanks for the invite. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I LOVE Rogue. It’s probably the only local magazine I read. ๐Ÿ™‚ If you want I can send you a back-issue. Just shoot me an email at gn [dot] edessa [at] gmail [dot] com. (This is legit, promise :)))

    1. Hi Gn! I think I fell in love with it, too! Ha-ha! Yes, finally I was able to have a copy of the October issue. Why, I discovered it just recently?! Anyways, like for free?hehe. Thanks for dropping by! Appreciate it much. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

