Something new or something that has been there all along

*

It’s been over a year and several months since I stepped out of school and I must say, things have been interesting, at least for me. Since I’m not in the academe yet (hopefully real soon), I pretty much have ‘lots’ of free time in my hands. And by free time I mean random hours or so of the day when I don’t have a major task to do that is work-related albeit I can really be occupied otherwise. Because of this, I was able to start reading fiction and making, what I call, paper things (chos!).

Contrary to popular belief (if there really is and was), I’m not big on fiction. I have this feeling that some people think I do because I write. Unfortunately, that is not the case. This is a shame but sadly, I haven’t even read a single Shakespeare (at least, completely) even if it’s included in my major. Writing this actually reminds me to start reading one. So, since I also felt the need to actually start reading fiction, start reading it is. Thanks to the Internet, I was able to acquire digital copies of different books.

A shot I took from the bookstore. I’m happy this book made it’s way here. 🙂

Well, Paper Towns (by John Green) is one of them. I found out about this book from blogs that I read. I must say, this is a good book to start with. So far, I have finished about seven books-almost all of which are digital copies. I was fortunate to find a copy of Tuesdays With Morrie at the place I’ve been working in and finished it in three days. 🙂

So far, I am enjoying this ‘fiction project’. My exposure to writing styles are getting wider and I like noting down quotable quotes(!) He-he. I’m challenged to choose wisely, too as there are books which seem (really) nice but have content that is otherwise (read: uncensored).

‘paper things’

I have also been making collages (naks, kung maka-collage, feeling artist! lol). Well, I was really inspired by one local artist and a project called Index Card A Day (Google it to know more about the project) and started making collages on my own. Index Card A Day isn’t really just about making collages on index cards but since I cannot really paint or draw, I end up making collages instead. Hihi.

“When money grows on trees/ people live in peace/…that’s when” – Shania Twain.

So 90’s the inspiration, lol. But really, that was what came into mind when I decide to make this. The interesting thing about this is it felt like I had wanted to do these things all along. Ha-ha. I don’t even know where that exactly came from. I’m being emotional again, I guess. Boo. Or being carried away, which is pretty much the same thing. Ha-ha!

I printed some photos I took, too. 🙂 It’s still really nice to see photos in print. On this note, I really do miss taking pictures with a camera.

I wonder what else I could do in the next few months. More reading and writing, perhaps? More photos? New songs to learn and play? I’m excited. (I get giddy discovering new things and learning how to do them.)  As for now, I hope to really use this free time wisely.

*reminding myself not to rant about being MIA in the blogosphere. Hahaha!

Leave a Reply

